WSF 2013: Geoengineering: Resisting Climate Manipulation

geoengineering-e1266253250939-530x602

[Etc group] Geoengineering – the intentional, large-scale technological manipulation of the Earth’s systems – is another false solution to climate change being pushed from the global North. High-risk and high-tech schemes under development, including blasting reflective particles into the stratosphere, whitening clouds and dumping chemical compounds into the oceans, could have devastating consequences for ecosystems and for the food and water sources for billions of people. States responsible for most of the historic greenhouse gas emissions are pushing for geoengineering as they see it as “the perfect excuse” to continue business as usual – keep emitting CO2 while making new profits selling the geoengineering technologies. No government, industrial sector or billionaires club has the right to own the planet’s thermostat. Geoengineering diverts attention and resources from real solutions to climate change. In this workshop, we will provide a brief introduction to geoengineering technologies before discussing strategies to stop them. Hands Off Mother Earth!

The countries/industries causing climate change now want to hack Earth systems to ‘fix’ the problem, with devastating consequences for people and nature.

http://www.etcgroup.org/content/wsf-2013-geoengineering-resisting-climate-manipulation

11 comments

  1. An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this onto a friend who had been doing a little
    homework on this. And he actually ordered me lunch because I
    found it for him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!
    ! But yeah, thanks for spending some time to talk about this issue here on your site.

  2. Have you ever considered about including a
    little bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is important and everything.
    But think about if you added some great visuals or videos to give your posts more, “pop”!
    Your content is excellent but with pics and videos, this website could definitely be one of the greatest in its field.

    Good blog!

  3. I don’t even understand how I stopped up right here, however I thought this publish was good. I do not recognise who you’re however certainly you are going to a famous blogger for those who are not already.
    Cheers!

  4. Hey there, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues.

    When I look at your blog site in Opera, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has
    some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a
    quick heads up! Other then that, superb blog!

  5. Whenever possible, refer to your carpet warranty or ask a rug professional which method
    is the most suitable for your type of carpet. The Haan sanitizer was discovered with a department store
    by chance. This is the reason it is most beneficial that you save before you determine
    to purchase one. A classic steam cleaner
    utilizes sizzling mineral water to cleanse the counter.
    This process is helpful for cleaning small residential spaces, but such vapor steam cleaners are not
    suitable for intensive commercial operations.

  6. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your website.
    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable
    for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?
    Fantastic work!

  7. Hmm it seems like your website ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing.
    Do you have any tips and hints for inexperienced blog writers?
    I’d certainly appreciate it.

  8. The twelve died in the course of time, and the place
    remained desolate until, in AD 166, King Lucius (first Christian king of Britain), by his missionaries Phagan and Deruvian, established
    another twelve, whose succession was not interrupted
    until St. Although he is immobilized while Locus of Power is active,
    his movement speed increases upon disabling the ability.
    The further you get, the more accustomed you become to
    strategically placing pawns, and the easier it is to destroy your enemies.

  9. I visited multiple web pages however the audio feature for audio songs existing at
    this web page is in fact superb.

  10. Hey! Do you know if they make any plugins to safeguard against hackers?
    I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on. Any tips?

  11. I read this piece of writing completely about the difference of hottest and earlier technologies,
    it’s awesome article.

Leave a Reply

